HHW moves to monthly schedule
Contact Info
ViewHide
Subpages
Last item for navigation
Household hazardous waste drop off moves to monthly schedule
Posted on 01/19/2023
Los Alamos County's Environmental Services Manager Angelica Gurule announced a change to the household hazardous waste program. The existing weekly drop off schedule will move to a monthly schedule, beginning on February 3, with new hours from 9 a.m. to 1 p.m.

Residents who already pay for curbside collection can drop off household hazardous materials once a month at the Eco Station located at 3701 E. Jemez Road, according to the following schedule:

Friday, Feb. 3 Friday, Mar. 3 Saturday, Apr. 8
Friday, May 5 Friday, June 2 Saturday, July 8 Friday, Aug. 4 Friday, Sep. 1 Saturday, Oct. 7 Friday, Nov. 3 Friday, Dec. 1

The schedule can also be found at https://lacnm.com/HHW and will be added to the Recycle Coach App within the week, according to Gurule. This is a municipal recycle app that also includes Los Alamos County trash, recycle and brush collection schedules and is available to download to mobile phones at Google Play and Apple Stores.

Last year, the Environmental Services division decided to convert the weekly in-house household hazardous waste program to a monthly contracted operation to protect the community's health and the environment. Accordingly, in December, ACTenviro was awarded a contract to collect the household hazardous waste and remove it the same day. ACTenviro employees are trained, qualified, and experienced in the safe, environmentally responsible practice of disposing of these materials. 

Accepted items include aerosol spray cans, automotive fluids, corrosives, cleaners, flammable photographic solvents, fuels, items containing mercury, oxidizers, fertilizers, pool chemicals, paints, finishes, stains, pesticides, and herbicides. The Eco Station accepts electronics, antifreeze and automotive oil seven days a week. For additional information call or email the Environmental Services division at 505-662-8163, [email protected] or visit the webpage at https://lacnm.com/HHW.